Skip to main content
Finished Exhibitions
05/10/2022 - 06/02/2023

EDP Foundation New Artists Award 2022 
14th edition

Adriana ProganóAndreia SantanaBruno ZhuMaria TrabuloRené Tavares and Rita Ferreira are the EDP Foundation New Artists Award finalists. The artists participate in a collective exhibition to be held at maat in October 2022, when the winner will be selected. 

The more than 700 submissions to this 14th edition of the award were reviewed by a Selection Panel of Judges made up of curators Luís Silva, Luísa Santos and Sara Antónia Matos, who will also be responsible for curating the collective exhibition. Curators Luís SilvaLuísa Santos and Sara Antónia Matos “were able to witness the great merit and work capacity of artists in Portugal”. Although age is not one of the selection criteria, “there was an emphasis on a generation of artists under 40 who are currently carving their way, thanks to the conceptual and formal quality of their work, within both the national and international artistic production scenes. Despite very different formal, material and narrative premises, the research work conducted by all the nominees reveals some fundamental thinking about our place and our agency in contemporary societies”, the curators added.

The EDP Foundation New Artists Award 2022 was given to Adriana Proganó. The jury, consisting of Amanda Carneiro, Luisa Cunha, Marcio Doctors, Ana Rito, Miguel Coutinho and Vera Pinto Pereira, acknowledges that Adriana Proganó's work stands out for its boldness, by producing something new within her own trajectory in dialogue with the themes and languages to which she has dedicated herself. The jury also highlights the singularity of this proposal, which, by combining irony and humour with institutional criticism, presents a renewed look at the practice of painting and its extension into the field of the object. The jury also decided to distinguish Bruno Zhu's participation with an honourable mention. 

Established in 2000, the EDP Foundation’s New Artists Award is recognised as one of the most significant art awards in Portugal. Since its first iteration, it has recognised Joana Vasconcelos, Leonor Antunes, Vasco Araújo, Carlos Bunga, João Maria Gusmão & Pedro Paiva, João Leonardo, André Romão, Gabriel Abrantes, Priscila Fernandes, Ana Santos, Mariana Silva, Claire de Santa Coloma and Diana Policarpo. With growing relevance, over the last two decades, the New Artists Award have featured dozens of artists, mapping the trajectory of successive generations within the Portuguese art world.

With the support: