EDP Foundation's New Artists Award

Inês Grosso
Sara Antónia Matos
João Silvério

The 13th edition of the EDP Foundation New Artists Award reiterates the desire to support and promote new talent in Portuguese contemporary art. Established in 2000, the Award has recognised artists such as Joana Vasconcelos, Leonor Antunes, Vasco Araújo, Carlos Bunga, João Maria Gusmão and Pedro Paiva, João Leonardo, André Romão, Gabriel Abrantes, Priscila Fernandes, Ana Santos, Mariana Silva and Claire de Santa Coloma. The opportunity to exhibit within an institutional context and to work professionally under the direction of a curator has proven invaluable to launch or establish remarkable careers, both on a national and international level.

Isabel Madureira Andrade, AnaMary Bilbao, Dealmeida Esilva, Mónica de Miranda, Henrique Pavão and Diana Policarpo were the six artists who make up this edition’s collective exhibition. Selected by Inês Grosso, Sara Antónia Matos and João Silvério, the exhibition curators, the finalists presented works created specifically for this exhibition project.

The winner, chosen by an international jury during the exhibition, was Diana Policarpo (n. 1986).